Leave your passport behind when travelling in Europe


Starting July 1, you can travel without a passport within the whole of Europe – including Cyprus, Croatia and the United Kingdom, where they previously conducted strict passport checks.

In May, the Swedish Parliament decided that Swedish citizens can travel without passports to all EU countries from 1 July 2015. Previously, Swedish citizens have needed a passport to travel from Sweden to countries outside the Schengen area.

The Schengen zone is comprised by 22 EU member countries, as well as the associated member states Norway, Switzerland, Iceland and Lichtenstien. Common for all has been that they have not carried out systematic checks on persons at the respective borders.

Popular tourist destinations more accessible

Passport-free travel within the Schengen zone will remain, but as of July 1 Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Romania, Ireland and the United Kingdom will become a bit more easily available to Swedes when their passport requirement is removed.

The only thing that is required when travelling in Europe from now onwards is a national ID card. Note that a regular driver's license is not enough. You can apply for a national identity card with the local police.